♣ Soul Thirst For Him Solely

wasteland

“O God you are my God; earnestly I seek You; my soul thirsts for you; my flesh faints for you, as in a dry and weary land where there is no water.” – Psalm 63:1 

THERE IS A simultaneity when enjoying our walk with God we find pleasance in all good things around us; our senses are inevitably enhanced when we are close to Him –

‘Heaven above is softer blue,
Earth around is sweeter green;
Something lives in every hue
Christless eyes have never seen…’

– but how often have we strayed and wandered from the living God because of what appeals to our senses and how often have we been enamoured by creation rather than the Creator Himself, Who is the essence of all that exists? There is, of course, nothing wrong with admiring the beauty of God’s artistry so long as it results in worshipping and adoring Him.

Is God to be enjoyed in order to enjoy all things around us? Is He perceived as some kind of ‘plug-in-container’ or ‘add-on’ to intensify all our senses? Honesty will serve us well in that what is largely witnessed today is a pursuit of God as a means to self-gratification; obeying God so that in turn He prospers us. We know what Scripture states, in that He does bless those who are obedient to Him, but our fallen nature (our flesh – which we still war against) is inclined to mould such truths to its preference. There are many people who twist the Scriptures unto their own destruction (2 Peter 3:16).

Although we may be granted what we long and pine for, if our hearts are not fixed on God, those blessings will wither, leaving us dry to the point of even despising the things we once held dear. Materialism – in large or small quantities – is something we need to beware of throughout our pilgrimage as Christians, no matter how mature we are in the faith. Material things will guarantee a temporary fix but can never satisfy us or calm the aching abyss in our hearts; human nature has a tendency to rapidly tire of them and in no amount of time sets out on another pursuit to gratify higher demands, cravings and addictions. Idolatry takes on many forms if God takes second place in our lives. God has so constituted us that only He can give what ends our soul thirst (John 4:13) when we put Him first. It is then we truly understand what David felt: “…Your steadfast love is better than life…” (Psalm 63:3).

Even in all our zeal to study our Bibles and theology, there is the danger of ‘fulfilling’ our duty which more often than not leads to drudgery and burnout. Are we seeking God when we read the Scriptures? It takes no effort to read our Bibles like any other ordinary textbook, even though we may obtain some satisfaction. To seek Him is to go beyond the written Word, perceiving the Spirit behind what we read and to hear Him speak that life into our hearts. Unbeknown to many, we can make an idol out of our devotional times. The quiet moments can certainly still our minds and calm our anxiety, thinking we have the peace of God when in actuality it is anything other than that. The peace of God only comes as a result of God making Himself known to us; there is no question about it – it goes beyond mere feeling and words.

Notice what David states: “earnestly I seek You; my soul thirsts for You; my flesh faints for You, as in a dry and weary land where there is no water.” David was king and yet longed for nothing less than knowing God; everything paled into insignificance, understanding that nothing else would satisfy. It wasn’t things – material riches – that were able to fulfil. It wasn’t mere knowledge that brought manna to the soul. Neither was it human friendships or relationships that satisfied. You alone I long for.” Life is naught if such soul-thirst be denied. We may have all the security this world can offer, but exempt of God’s Fatherly covering and loving care, we are the most pitiable, the most lost and insecure, but to joyously embrace (know) this experiential and heart-felt knowledge where we can say, “You alone are my God” is to encounter the euphoric-delight of eternal salvation – knowing God Himself (John 17:3). It is a non-exaggerated joy; it is the very realism the apostle Peter speaks of – “…joy that is inexpressible…” (1 Peter 1:8).

It is only in the wilderness, where other things that hinder are stripped away by Providence, do we perceive that which is essential and it is the mercy of God that keeps us from finding and establishing fulfilment in anything that would stunt our growth in eternity’s values, whereby we are being transformed into the image of Jesus Christ from one degree of glory to another (Romans 8:29; 2 Corinthians 3:18; Philippians 1:6). 

Posted on January 18, 2013, in ♣ Devotional and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Praise God Brother Mark !
    The beginning of this article takes me back to a time when I was a very young man. My Grandpa Murray took me for a ride into the high country to show me something that I had never seen before.It was close to fifteen years before my conversion, but I did see a glimpse of God’s Glory that day.

    ‘Heaven above is softer blue,
    Earth around is sweeter green;
    Something lives in every hue
    Christless eyes have never seen…’

    He took me to a valley that was six miles long and and anywhere from fifty feet to a quarter mile wide. When I realized where we were going, I thought to myself, I had spent hundreds of hours hunting in that area at night. I grew up running hounds, coon, bear, mountain lion, and bobcat. I thought to myself, he couldn’t show me anything there that I hadn’t seen before. Boy, was I surprised, to say the least. As we approached the east end of that little valley, it’s a steep road that brings you to a rise that gives you a wonderful vantages point to see in all directions. He drove to the highest point of that rise, and the view over the full length of that valley was breathtaking. It was filled with massive clouds of snow white to the lightest, most delicate shades of pink that I’ve ever seen in my life. That whole valley was filled with the abundant splendor of the most beautiful forest of Dogwood that would defy any man’s capacity to describe. I had not been there during that time of the year before. My Grandpa look at me and asked, ” What do you see ?” I answered, ” the most beautiful sight I had ever seen before !” I thank God that my Grandpa had been given eyes to see with and a heart of understanding.. He said something to me as we sat there, I didn’t understand at that time. Praise God, I do understand now. He said, ” Only one word can describe what we are seeing, it’s GLORY !” He was right !

    It has been nearly twenty years since I walked through that beautiful memory. It brings to my mind the following passage.

    Romans 1:20 “For the invisible things of him from the creation of the world are clearly seen, being understood by the things that are made, even his eternal power and Godhead; so that they are without excuse:”

    Thank you Brother Mark. This post made my day as I consider and ponder on God’s Amazing Glory. Very good article .

    GOD BLESS YOU ALWAYS MY FRIEND,
    Dale

Leave a Reply

